Addiction and Alcoholism: Heartbreak All Over the World

Age-standardised disability-adjusted life year...

Age-standardised disability-adjusted life year (DALY) rates from Alcohol use disorders by country (per 100,000 inhabitants). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Last weekend at my regular Al-Anon meeting I talked about how alcoholism, the disease and its effects, has brought me to my knees.

It has broken me in two.

I am starting to mend, but it is taking some time.

As usual, my face heated up and I stared at the floor and I kicked myself for sharing too much, even though that’s the point. I don’t know why anyone would care.

Afterward a regular attendee, Cee Cee, came up and thanked me for speaking up.

Her daughter’s heroin addiction has brought her to her knees, as well, and she liked the way I described that.

We talked for a few minutes. I felt connected, less raw, more energized.

That’s partly why I keep this blog.

Friends, sometimes I check my stats, as I did just now. I can see who visits the blog and from where.

I can tell you with absolute certainty: the disease of alcoholism and addiction is causing heartbreak all over the world.

Every day, since I published it, I get at least ten new visitors who find me via Google. Google leads them to this post, my most popular, because heartbroken people Google questions such as:

  • can i divorce an alcoholic
  • addict custody in _________ county
  • divorcing an alcoholic

And so on. And that’s just today.

If you saw the long list of search terms, your heart would break a little too.

But there’s another story here. It reminds us how pervasive this disease is.

Today I’m feeling a little less alone, a bit less ashamed. And I hope you are too.

We are not in this alone, and we cannot fight this alone.

I hope these words bring you some comfort today.

4 thoughts on “Addiction and Alcoholism: Heartbreak All Over the World

  1. Your entries, and your words today, are comforting. It is so confusing and strange to be on this road, and it really does help to know that there are others who have been there or are doing it. Thank you.

  2. I am fortunate that I am not dealing with alcoholism now, but my childhood was a shambles due to an abusive, alcoholic father. Thankfully he walked out and when my mom found out all he had been doing to me, she made sure he didn’t have contact again. I luckily escaped the alcoholism in my world. Sadly I see it affect others that I love today. I see it destroy families way too often. I’m so glad you are finding a place for support.

  3. I searched under alcoholism and heartbreak and I found your blog. I want to understand why my cousin drank himself to death and why no one helped him/ why he didn’t help himself. I wonder if Al- Anon meetings would help me. I think about his death every day and I am saddened by the reality of life. He died alone. I would have been there if we weren’t half the world away. I wonder about his last thoughts and regrets but mostly I wonder if he had suffered. If he wasnt poor if the hospital in Thailand would have saved him. I am not satisfied with the answers I was given. I died at 36, 2 months after my son was born. I wish they could have met.

What do you think?

